Why I am an atheist.

This image was posted at Atheist Revolution today, and it’s an excellent explanation for why I am an atheist. Reading the comments at Atheist Revolution indicates that many of us feel that way too.

Why I am an atheist

Why I am an atheist (1)

We so often hear from the religious the sayings mentioned above. “Why do you hate god?”, “You Satan worshiper”, “You can’t disprove god”, etc. I do think that taking on these questions individually is important, but it doesn’t help us win the bigger picture. “If one argument fails, it doesn’t matter because there are so many other reasons why god is real” or so believers think. We need to get this type of message out more because it takes on this belief directly. It puts us on the offensive, so to speak, and is more likely to sway people on the fence. Kudos to the author of this image for creating such a concise and effective statement!

Update 11/13/11: This post has become quite popular recently. To everyone visiting my blog for the first time, welcome! I have a few other posts that are similar to this one you might be interested in: “Coming out as atheist,” “The search for meaning without religion,” and “My journey from being a liberal Christian in Texas to an Atheist in California.”

(1) vjack. “Why I am an Atheist.” Atheist Revolution. 14th June, 2011. Available: http://www.atheistrev.com/2011/06/why-i-am-atheist.html

6 thoughts on “Why I am an atheist.

  1. You are absolutely correct, and this image (which I agree with) does nothing to challenge your claim. All it says is that the possibility of something existing is not a sufficient enough reason to believe that it does exist. For example, the possibility that a whale is going to fall on my house and destroy my living room is non-zero, but it would be absurd to spend a small fortune making it whale proof.

    Essentially, it doesn’t matter if something is merely possible, but rather it must be plausible (i.e. there must be scientific evidence in favor of), before it can be seriously considered.

  2. Hi, God does exist. try finding the evidences yourself and you will be in for a surprise:) err you can try starting from the archaeology evidence of some significant events in the Bible:) not to force anything but i hope you can try proving God exist to see both side in an objective light and you might see that God can actually stand up to rigorous tests.. and yeah, there are many things that cannot be proved by mere scientific methods, eg, steel is a conductor of electricity, this can be proven and quantified. but if i ask you, say a fictional Mr Smith have a son. how would you prove it?? you will look to evidences like Dna, testimony from his friends, wife, people who knew him personally… even then, you cant be absolutely sure Mr Brown had only one son:) right?? but youwill take his word for it because of circumstantial evidence and testimonies of others right?? Then by faith you conclude MrBrown had only 1 son and nothing else… I thinksame goes for God and Jesus:) hope you will give it some serious thought and find you own answers:) God Bless:)

    • I was a Christian for roughly 20 years and I spent much of that time looking for evidence, so I am quite familiar with the “evidence” available. I have not come across any rigorous evidence in my studies. If you have some good evidence, I would be glad to consider it though.

      there are many things that cannot be proved by mere scientific methods, eg, steel is a conductor of electricity, this can be proven and quantified. but if i ask you, say a fictional Mr Smith have a son. how would you prove it?? you will look to evidences like Dna, testimony from his friends, wife, people who knew him personally… even then, you cant be absolutely sure Mr Brown had only one son:) right??

      Correct

      but youwill take his word for it because of circumstantial evidence and testimonies of others right?? Then by faith you conclude MrBrown had only 1 son and nothing else…

      Incorrect. I will accept that there is a reasonable probability that only one son exists, but people do lie, so I can’t take his word for it. If I am presented with better evidence, such as two birth certificates for two sons, then I will update my current understanding on the number of children Mr Brown has. I use the evidence I have to form the best understanding possible, with the understanding that my understanding is incomplete and I am willing to change my understanding based on future evidence.

      I thinksame goes for God and Jesus:)

      I disagree. We can examine physical evidence that Mr Brown’s son exists. We can actually talk to the son, take photographs of him, examine birth cirtificates, and other science based evidence. There is no valid scientific evidence of the existence of god(s).

      hope you will give it some serious thought and find you own answers:) God Bless:)

      I did give this some serious thought and I came to my own conclusions…that’s why I am an atheist 🙂

    • The example of Mr Smith and his son is absurd from the beginning. If testimonies were enough, no innocent would ever have entered the death corridor.

      The fact is: I have no guarantee that Mr Smith’s son is not adoptive, to start with; additionally, I cannot say if the child’s mother told him the truth, or even if she really knows who is the right father.

      On the other hand, at the same time, there is also the possibility of Mr Smith having children WITHOUT having the slightest idea about that.

Leave a Reply

