Happy Rapture Day fellow heathens!

Happy Rapture Day my fellow heathens! I hope your end-of-times are going well.  I thought I ‘d throw up another Vonnegut quote to ponder:

“About belief or lack of belief in an afterlife: Some of you may know that I am neither Christian nor Jewish nor Buddhist, nor a conventionally religious person of any sort.
I am a humanist, which means, in part, that I have tried to behave decently without any expectation of rewards or punishments after I’m dead.” – Kurt Vonnegut Jr.[1]

Let’s face it, the rapture is about reward for the religious for leading a “good” life (subtexts and alterior motives aside). So while we have fun laughing at the rapture believers who were so amusingly wrong, let’s also consider what we have done in our own lives to show that belief in the afterlife isn’t necessary for morality.

[1] K. Vonnegut. (1999).  God Bless You, Dr. Kevorkian (Seven Stories Press)

Leave a Reply

