Let me introduce myself

Hi everyone,

Welcome to my blog, Chrono-Synclastic Infundibulum. The name comes from the second novel by my favorite author, Kurt Vonnegut, Jr. According to Vonnegut, Chrono-synclastic infundibulum “are where all the different kinds of truths fit together.” The meaning of the phrase is described as: [1]

“Chrono (kroh-no) means time. Synclastic (sin-class-tick) means curved toward the same side in all directions, like the skin of an orange. Infundibulum (in-fun-dib-u-lum) is what the ancient Romans like Julius Caeser and Nero called a funnel. “

While I certainly don’t make any claims to have all the truths in the universe, my goal is to write about my views on a variety of subjects, and how they all fit together into my worldview (my truths).

I am a software engineer who works in Sillicon Valley at a small startup company. I received my Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering and have been programming since I was in high school. I absolutely love programming because it’s like solving a free-form, math-based puzzle. I also love learning about new scientific ideas (I read Scientific American regularly). I have been gaming most of my life, and still play PC games regularly (FPS’s and RPG’s mostly). So yeah, I’m an all-around nerd.

I’m not all left-brain though. I learned to play both piano and violin as a kid, and I still enjoy partaking in the arts. Whether it’s going to the San Francisco Symphony or Ballet, going to one of the many fantastic museums in the area, or just watching a good film, the arts play an important role in my life. They provide meaning and insight into the human condition in ways that nothing else can.

I am an atheist, and I intend to make atheism and skepticism the main theme of this blog. I grew up as a liberal Christian, although on reflection I was really deist at best (not that that’s a good thing). I also grew up in Texas, so I have a lot of personal experience dealing with fundamentalists Christians and conservatives in general. (Let’s just say that I am extremely grateful to not be in Texas anymore.) I think that my experiences growing up combined with my experiences as an engineer give me a somewhat unique perspective as an atheist, and I hope to convey those experiences here.

I want to mention that some of my inspiration for starting this blog are various atheist bloggers I myself am a fan of, including PZ Myers, Greta Christina, and Hemant Mehta. Without them, I wouldn’t be writing today. I hope you enjoy the blog!

“Many people need desperately to receive this message: “I feel and think much as you do, care about many of the things you care about, although most people don’t care about them. You are not alone.” ” – Kurt Vonnegut, Jr. [2]

[1] K. Vonnegut (1959). Sirens of Titan (Dell Publishing).
[2] K. Vonnegut (1997). Timequake (G. P. Putnam’s Sons).

Leave a Reply

